This is going to piss people off.
I don't care.
It's on my mind, it's my opinion and it's certainly not going to affect you in anyway. You either agree with it or you don't.
There is a video running around in the internet of a kid singing in church about "ain't no homo gonna make it to Heaven"
Religion is like politics, you don't argue with it, because chances are you're going to offend someone.
But this pisses me off. Not the kid, he has NO idea what homosexuality is, he's probably 4. He spends his day, walking around, playing with friends, doing whatever 4 year olds do on the playgrounds these days.
I blame his parents and his parents really, really piss me off, as does the congregation of this church.
Listen, if you are against gays and lesbians , thats great, who the fuck am I to change your opinion?
I don't want to. You have your opinion, I have mine.
Sometime around 2009 or so, people started posting videos on YouTube about bullying, this started a whole massive move against bullying. People far and wide are calling for the heads of bullies when sometimes, it wasn't as big of a deal as it was being made out. Personally, I think the whole anti-bully movement has gone too far. As I feel that a kid who gets bullied shouldn't kill himself, BUT I have never been in that spot in my life, I hope I never am, therefore, I was taught a long time ago that unless you walk a day in someone else's shoes than don't judge them, so I try not too and I try hard.
Most of these kids who get bullied are gay or have gay tendencies that make people think that they are gay, some of these "tendencies" aren't anything that a kid can help but teenagers will be teenagers constantly harassing kids for being different, either they don't wear the cool clothes, or maybe they are gay, who cares what the reason is, one thing is simple.
We can't be hypocrites, kids will be kids, I get that, but where do you think they get it from? They just wake up, read the paper and see the headlines that say "gays are a sin" NO they get it from their parents. Parent's can't condemn bullying but think its ok to call gays 'fags'. It sends a mixed messages to kids, especially teenagers.
Whether you as a parent agree with a gay lifestyle or blacks, or whites, or anything that isn't the same as you, don't teach your child to hate someone because they are different.
Listen, my dad was born in 1942, he grew up in a middle class suburban area that was mostly white in the 1950's and 60's. He also grew up VERY Catholic. Were there times because of his upbringing that he was a little prejudice? Occasionally, but not really. He was progressive enough to know that what happened in the past was the past and that people's thoughts and ideas change. I was never told hateful things by him. My mother the flower child from the 60's and 70's was certainly open to pretty much anything, so she also taught me to be respectful of people that are different then you.
I get it, that I am lucky, that I could care less who you are, gay, purple, muslim, jewish, black, etc you're still a person and I'm going to like you or I'm not, but it will never be strictly because of your skin color or your religion or your sexual preferences. Except for maybe your political beliefs :-) kidding.
Listen if you watch the video, see it with open eyes.
It's all cute when he's four and he's singing about how homos aren't going to make it to heaven, people laugh and cheer cause it's funny. But it's not funny. It's deadly fucking serious. Maybe his parents are just strictly religious people who believe that homosexuality is a sin. So is Wrath, so is Gluttony, are we preaching our kids that ain't no fat people gonna make it to heaven, or even better because we violently hate homosexuals, we probably won't make it to Heaven either.
I can go on and on, the argument has been made. But maybe his parents aren't the type of people who will protest gay marriage simply on principle. Maybe his parents aren't going to hate anybody simply because they are different.
Hopefully this kid isn't going to grow up hating people that are different then him. But other kids do.
This is how bullies are made. 'gasp' says the good Christian mom. How dare you say my son is a bully he's a good christian boy, that little gay kid down the street with his homo tendencies, he's the sinner, my kid is just reminding him of how evil his ways are.
So the little gay kid kills himself.
Who's the asshole now?
Twenty years from now the little gay kid could be President, so far as I know there are no Constitutional laws against the sexuality of a candidate. It's never happened before but hey 50 years ago mentioning the fact a black man might have been President would have gotten you beaten.
Shit 50 years ago, a Catholic in the White House was a big deal.
That's where we are right now.
Agree with me or not about my views. I don't care, I don't want to change your mind. But I beg you, that if you have kids, don't teach them hate. If they want to form their own opinions, thats fine, but let them form their own opinions, we can't stop a lot of the issues we have in our country unless we look at ourselves deeply first. Nobody's perfect. It's a simple as that, we are ALL human beings though. You are the same as the gay guy next to you and the black woman sitting across from you and the muslim man who sits at the bus stop with you. Respect one another as such.
My hippy rant is done for that day.